City levels are determined by the county in which they are located. If the city is not named below, it may be located within a county listed below. Visit the National Association of Counties website and type the city name into the "City/Zip Search" tab to determine the city's county. If the city is not listed below or is not located in a county below, that city is a Level 1.


Level City County
4 D.C. (District of Columbia) 
Alexandria, Falls Church,
See also District of Columbia
Arlington, Fairfax
4 Abingdon Washington
3 Blacksburg Montgomery
3 Loudoun Loudoun
3 Lynchburg Campbell / Lynchburg City
4 Richmond City of Richmond
3 Roanoke City Limits of Roanoke
3 Virginia Beach City of Virginia Beach
4 Wallops Island Accomack
3 Warrenton Fauquier
4 Williamsburg / York James City / York Counties /
City of Williamsburg