DAS Central Procurement Training
for Purchasing Agents (PA) & Agency Authorized Purchasers (AAP) 

In order to facilitate efficient and cost-effective purchasing in compliance with State of Iowa Code, Iowa Administrative Code (IAC), and DAS Policies and Procedures, DAS Central Procurement has developed a professional development plan for all State of Iowa employees designated to make purchases on behalf of the State. 

Procurement authority is limited to State of Iowa employees who have completed appropriate training for their assigned purchasing level. Per Administrative Rule 11 IAC 117.15(2), purchasing authority is granted to the employee who completes the required training, not the employing agency.

In addition to web-based modules, classroom courses are offered in partnership with Performance and Development Solutions (PDS), DAS State Accounting Enterprise (SAE), and the National Institute of Government Procurement (NIGP).

Required Training: WHO needs WHAT? 

Required classes for Purchasing Agents (PAs) & Agency Authorized Purchasers (AAPs) are based upon thresholds for purchasing authority classified as Level A, Level 1 (Basic), Level 2 (Advanced), or Level 3 (DAS PAs only). 

 Optional Training: IMPACS -eProcurement

There are three two-hour virtual classes offered for the IMPACS eProcurement system. 

IMPACS Orientation, Dashboards & Purchasing

IMPACS Solicitations

IMPACS - Contracts

The classes are offered every month on Tuesday via Google Meet.

Please consult the Learning Management System (LMS) for dates.