You are here

Certified Public Manager (CPM) Program

Certified Public Manager Program

Developing today's public leaders through CPM

To maintain Iowa's high level of commitment to professional development and public service, the State of Iowa, in partnership with Drake University, offers a nationally accredited Certified Public ManagerĀ® (CPM) program.

CPM is an intensive learning experience designed for supervisors, managers, executives, management staff, and project managers from federal, state, county, and local governments. The program includes discussion, traditional classroom experiences, and on-line learning. Participants also complete one job-related team project, which gives them the opportunity to apply theories, principles, and/or techniques learned in the CPM program to a situation, problem, concern, or opportunity in a public organization.

Cohort 39 Begins in January 24, 2023. 

          Applications are being taken now.  

CPM Blends In-person with Virtual Learning

The new cohort that began in September of 2022 met using a blend of in-person learning at the Drake University campus and on-line virtual learning from your office or home.  Sessions that work best in a face-to-face setting will meet on the Drake University campus while sessions that work well in the live online format will be held using the virtual meeting format that has become commonplace in the last few years.  The CPM format is subject to change due to current needs.  The online learning experience features real-time virtual class sessions and other online engagement.  A mix of online with on-campus sessions lowers travel costs and travel time commitments while providing the face-to-face engagement for specific courses.  See the course schedule for more information.  

Technology Requirements

CPM is a very engaging experience whether offered virtually or face-to-face on the Drake campus. Since major elements of this CPM cohort will take place online, we ask that each CPM learner have access to a computer or device with an internet connection plus a microphone and camera to allow virtual engagement with others in real-time. If that resource is not available to you, please contact

For More Information

CPM Class Schedules:


CPM 37 schedule *updated 9-22-2022!

       to the graduates of Cohort 35 - June 2022:

Cohort 35 consisted of: Tyler Baird, City of Iowa City: Julie Faas,  Department of Natural Resources; Jason Fisher, Department of Transportation; Stephen Renny Galogitho,  Pitch-Build (Uganda) Limited; Grant Gelly, Department of Natural Resources; Amy Henze, City of Bettendorf; Cindy Im, City of Webster City; Jennifer Kleene, Dept of Administrative Services; Elliot Klimowski, City of Norwalk; Kent Maahs, Non-State; Morgan Mooers, Department of Transportation; Tara Naber, Department of Natural Resources; James Norman, IPERS; Adam Prilipp, City of Des Moines; Ben Schwenker, Dept of Corrections - IA Medical Class. Center; Marlene Sigmund, City of Des Moines; Ashley Thompson, Professional Licensing & Regulation Bureau; Steve Trost, Department of Transportation; Matthew Webb, City of Des Moines.  Thank you all for your commitment to public service in Iowa.