DAS CUSTOMER COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: August 11, 2014

A regular meeting of the DAS Customer Council was held on Monday, August 11, 2014, at the Hoover Building (Conference Room 6) in Des Moines, Iowa. The meeting was called to order by Chair David Roederer at 1:32 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Steve Larson, Department of Commerce – Alcoholic Beverages Division Janet Phipps, Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Vice-Chair David Roederer, Department of Management (DOM), Chair Jean Slaybaugh, Department of Human Services (DHS) Peggy Sullivan, Judicial Branch Margaret Thomson, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship Bruce Trautman, Department of Natural Resources Nickie Whitaker, Department of Public Safety Lee Wilkinson, Department of Transportation San Wong, Department of Human Rights (DHR) Joel Wulf, Department on Aging

MEMBERS ABSENT

Carmine Boal, Legislative Branch (House) Mary Cownie, Department of Cultural Affairs Jessica Holmes, Department of Revenue Michael Marshall, Legislative Branch (Senate) Kristen May, Iowa College Student Aid Commission

DESIGNEES

Chris Kramer, Department of Cultural Affairs, for Mary Cownie

OTHER ATTENDEES

Jeannie Adams, DAS Lon Anderson, DAS Mary Bowser, DHR Paul Carlson, DAS Susan Churchill, DAS, responsible for taking meeting minutes Jay Cleveland, DAS Judi Cooper, Commerce – Iowa Utilities Board Kelly Green, DAS Karin Gregor, DAS Ed Holland, DAS Caleb Hunter, DAS Jan Johnson, Commerce - Credit Union Mirela Jusic, DAS Tana Kelce, DAS Randy Lagerblade, DAS Kathy Mabie, DOM Phil Miclot, DAS Michelle Minnehan, DAS

DAS CUSTOMER COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: August 11, 2014

Jeff Panknen, DAS Stefanie Pirkl, DAS Julie Sterk, DAS Bob von Wolffradt, Office of the Chief Information Officer Bill West, DAS Beverly Zylstra, Department of Inspections and Appeals Others may have been present who did not sign in.

AGENDA ITEMS

- The meeting was called to order at 1:32 p.m. by Chair David Roederer. Chair Roederer introduced two new members of the DAS Customer Council: Kristen May, who attended the last meeting but could not attend this meeting, and Jan Johnson from Commerce – Credit Union, whose term will begin on September 1, 2014.
- II. MOTION: Steve Larson made a motion to approve the meeting minutes of June 30, 2014.
 - A. Lee Wilkinson seconded the motion.
 - B. Motion passed unanimously.
- III. DAS Business Plan The Council reviewed the Business Plan submitted by DAS.
 - A. Mission Statement: "To deliver efficient and effective services to enable and support the mission and operations of our stakeholder agencies.
 - B. Vision Statement: "DAS will be an organization of excellence, providing services and support to meet our stakeholder agencies' needs and ever mindful of good stewardship in resource utilization."
 - C. The Council briefly discussed the strategic initiatives of DAS, which made up the framework for the Business Plan and the basis for the proposed rates.
- IV. Biennial Review DAS Sole Provider of Services
 - A. Vice-Chair Phipps stated that 541—12.7(4) of the Iowa Administrative Code mandates that every two years the Council shall review the decision that DAS be the sole provider of services; she asked if the Council had anything to discuss on this issue.
 - B. The Council had nothing to discuss.
- V. Approval of FY 2016 and FY 2017 Methodologies and Rates
 - A. Director Phipps asked Council Members if they had any questions regarding the proposed methodologies and rates.
 - 1. Lee Wilkinson asked if the FMLA charge covered only the cost of outsourcing, or if it also covered other internal costs. Answer: this fee covers the cost of outsourcing only.
 - a. \$1.50 per employee per month for outside administration
 - b. \$0.10 per employee per month for information technology costs
 - Lee Wilkinson asked if Information Technology Enterprise—now called Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)—had any increases in rates. Bob von Wolffradt, Director of OCIO, confirmed that there would be no increases in information technology rates.
 - 3. Chris Kramer asked for the strategy behind the increase in Association fees. Vice-Chair Phipps replied:

DAS CUSTOMER COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: August 11, 2014

- a. The Baker Group study indicated that DAS was behind in maintenance.
- b. The last rate increase was a modest increase in FY2012.
- c. 85% of this increase will cover salary and benefits of staff and the rest will be used on maintenance.
- d. This increase will be spread over two years.
- 4. San Wong asked when mandatory training would be covered under the new Training Utility fee.
 - a. Michelle Minnehan, Chief Operating Officer of the Department of Administrative Services – Human Resources Enterprise, replied that in the short term, compliance-based courses will be offered at a much lower price; in the long term, DAS hopes to make the courses more accessible.
 - b. San Wong stated that the new utility fee diminishes her ability to manage her budget.
- 5. Margaret Thomson asked if the DAS budget could be put as a line item on departments' budgets, so they could see it. Director Roederer stated that her department could make this request and it could be done, and other departments could request this as well.
- 6. **MOTION:** Lee Wilkinson made a motion to approve the rates.
 - a. Steve Larson seconded the motion
 - b. <u>Discussion</u>: Chris Kramer asked if she could vote for Council Member Mary Cownie as her designee. Chair Roederer denied the request.
 - c. Five Council Members voted to approve the rates: Steve Larson, Jean Slaybaugh, Peggy Sullivan, Lee Wilkinson, and Joel Wulf.
 - d. Four Council Members voted no: Margaret Thomson, Bruce Trautman, Nickie Whitaker, and San Wong.
 - e. Motion passed.
- VI. Future Meeting Schedule The Council decided to meet again after the submission of the Governor's budget in 2015.
- VII. Mortion: Margaret Thomson made a motion to adjourn at 2:05 p.m.
 - A. Lee Wilkinson seconded the motion.
 - B. Motion passed unanimously.