	OWa of Life for	Department of Administrative Services Central Procurement and Fleet Services Enterprise			
Ĭ		Title/Subject:	Fleet Services Vehicle Accident Reporting		
_	owa sugar	Applies to:	All Executive Branch Employees, Non-Employees Representing the State	Effective Date: Revised Date: End Date:	6/30/2022 6/1/2025
Χ	Policy	Approved by:	Director Adam Steen	Policy #	650.420
Χ	Procedure	# of Pages:	2	Procedure #	650.420
	Other	Instruction:			
Legal Authority:					

Purpose

A. The purpose of this policy is to define required vehicle accident reporting.

II. Policy

A. A State driver must report any potential liability, collision, or comprehensive loss which occurs while conducting State business to the DAS Fleet Services Risk manager within 24 hours of the occurrence. Failure to do so may result in payment of any loss from the funds of the State driver's employing agency rather than from the State self-insurance fund.

III. Procedure

A. Guidelines

- In the event of an accident or incident resulting in vehicle damage, drivers
 must follow the instructions provided on the insurance card and <u>Vehicle</u>
 <u>Accident Reporting Procedures</u> packet in the vehicle's glove box after
 notifying the DAS Fleet Services Risk manager (immediately or within 24
 hours following an incident) either by phone or by email.
- 2. Complete the <u>Iowa Vehicle Accident Report Form</u> in the glove box. All damage, Minor dents, scratches, window cracks, etc. must be indicated on this form.
- 3. The accident report form must be completed by the driver and emailed within 72 hours to DAS.Risk@iowa.gov. A copy should also be forwarded to the agency contact to which the driver is assigned. Photos, police reports, other driver insurance documentation, etc. should also be sent to DAS.Risk@iowa.gov when submitting the accident report form.
- 4. The assigned driver must notify the appropriate law enforcement

- department when an accident occurs that involves another motorist.
- 5. In all instances of vandalism or theft, the appropriate law enforcement agency must be notified.
- 6. Report any accident to the Iowa DOT within 72 hours if it causes injury, death, or property damage over \$1,500. However, you will not be required to file a personal accident report if the accident was investigated by a law enforcement agency and the officer filed a report. The driver is responsible for ensuring an estimate of damages is obtained and sent to DAS Fleet Services in a timely manner (within 72 hours of the accident). Failure to obtain an estimate within this time frame may lead to loss of coverage with self-insurance funds.
- 7. DAS Fleet Services will manage the estimate review, approval of repairs, body shop communication, and payment after all required documentation has been submitted and a claim has been opened. However, the driver of the vehicle is responsible for scheduling repairs (after approval is given) and picking up the vehicle when repairs are completed.

B. Communication

- 1. This Policy is available on the DAS Fleet Services website.
- 2. Inquiries regarding this Policy shall be presented in writing to the DAS Fleet Manager.