DAS CUSTOMER COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: September 12, 2023

A regular meeting of the DAS Customer Council was held virtually on Tuesday, September 12, via Google Meet. The meeting was called to order by Chair Kraig Paulsen at 2:02 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Kraig Paulsen, Department of Management (DOM), Chair Adam Steen, Department of Administrative Service (DAS), Vice-Chair

Stephan Bayens, Department of Public Safety (DPS)
John Benson, Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM)
Debi Durham, Iowa Economic Development Authority/Iowa Finance Authority (IDEA/IFA)
Kent Farver, Judicial Branch
Kelly Garcia, Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Larry Johnson, Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL)
Kayla Lyon, Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
Scott Marler, Department of Transportation (DOT)
Mary Mosiman, Iowa Department of Revenue (IDR)
Meghan Nelson, Legislative Branch - House
Doug Ommen, Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS)
Stephen Osborn, Department of Corrections (DOC)
Charlie Smithson, Legislative Branch - Senate
McKenzie Snow, Department of Education (DOE)

MEMBERS ABSENT

Todd Jacobus, Iowa Department of Veterans Affairs (IDVA) Beth Townsend, Iowa Workforce Development (IWD)

OTHER ATTENDEES

Ryan Capps, Iowa Governor's Office (IGOV) Susan Churchill, DAS, responsible for taking meeting minutes Taryn Frideres, IGOV Troy Jerman, DOT Mirela Jusic, DAS Dylan Keller, Legislative Branch - Senate Molly Kilker, Legislative Services Agency (LSA) Xavier Leonard, LSA Jacob Nicholson, IGOV Trisha Quijano, DAS Gloria Van Rees, DOM Ryan West, IWD Tammy Winters, DOM Jim Wittenwyler, DPS

DAS CUSTOMER COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: September 12, 2023

AGENDA ITEMS

- I. The meeting was called to order at 2:02 p.m.
- II. Roll Call The Council did not do an official roll call, as those present were shown on the Google Meet participant list.
- III. Approve Minutes of August 3, 2022 (Action Item) The meeting minutes were approved without objection.¹
- IV. Summary of Customer Council Format
 - A. Prior to the annual Customer Council meeting, DAS and DOM will meet with deputies to discuss rates in detail.
 - B. During their annual meeting, Council Members will approve rates.
- V. Review of Rate Proposals by DAS (Action Item)
 - A. Council Members briefly discussed key rate adjustments for FY24.
 - 1. A change in the Procurement Utility Methodology from a 1% allocation of spend from two years prior to a 1% allocation of monthly spend in current fiscal year.
 - 2. An increase in the deductible for Fleet Risk Utility, which will be spread out across agencies.
 - 3. An increase in Motor Pool rates due to vehicle maintenance.
 - B. Council Members briefly discussed key rate proposals for FY25.
 - 1. A rate increase in DAS-Human Resources Enterprise, due to adding a recruiting mechanism in the current applicant tracking system, NEOGOV.
 - 2. A rate increase in the Office of the General Counsel, due to the addition of two fulltime employees—an Attorney 2 and an HR Professional 2.
 - 3. A nominal increase in DAS-General Services Enterprise's Association Rate.
 - C. Voting on FY24 rate adjustments and FY25 rate proposals:
 - 1. **MOTION:** Scott Marler made a motion to approve the rates.
 - 2. Mary Mosiman seconded the motion.
 - 3. Motion passed unanimously.
- VI. Call for Subcommittee
 - A. Prior to this meeting, DAS and DOM asked for volunteers to join a Working Group to help revise the Workers' Compensation rate methodology.
 - B. The following individuals volunteered for the Working Group:
 - 1. Steve Dick, DOC
 - 2. Earl Whipple, DOE
 - 3. Jim Wittenwyler, DPS
 - 4. Heather Hackbarth, DOM
 - 5. Mirela Jusic, DAS
- VII. Meeting adjourned at 2:09 p.m.

¹ Only five Council Members present at this meeting were also present at last year's meeting, and this did not constitute a quorum. The five members were: John Benson (HSEM), Kelly Garcia (HHS), Larry Johnson (DIAL), Beth Skinner (DOC), and Beth Townsend (IWD).