
   State of Iowa Vehicle  
 Accident Claim Process 

Notify within 24 hours: 
Agency Fleet Contact and DAS Fleet 

Services, 515-281-3162 

29C.20​ claims: 
Notification MUST be submitted within 24 

hours to 
das.risk@iowa.gov 

This is a loss incurred by fire, storm, theft or 
unavoidable cause. 

⇩
Submit DAS Fleet accident report form and estimate within 72 hours. 

Do not attempt to settle your claim of admit fault.  Refer any additional party to DAS 
Fleet at 515-281-3162. 

Any accident in the State of Iowa that causes death, personal injury or total property damage of $1,500 
or more must be reported on a DOT Accident Report Form (​433002​) unless the accident is investigated 

by a law enforcement agency.  Failure to return an accident report form within 72 hours may result in 
the suspension of your driving privileges. 

⇩
DAS Fleet will submit claim to CRS.  Estimate will be reviewed if over $1,500. 

⇩
Repair vehicles: ​DAS will notify the agency that the vendor has approval to begin 

repairs.  Repairs should be completed within 60 days of approval date.  
Totaled vehicles: ​DAS will notify the agency of salvage value and coordinate the 

return of the vehicle.  

⇩
If the vehicle needs supplemental work, the shop will contact DAS Fleet for approval 

before work is begun. 
The shop will contact the driver for vehicle pick-up once repairs are complete.  

⇩
DAS Fleet will handle all billing for risk claims, including tow bills and windshield 

replacement/repairs. 

DAS Fleet Services • 109 S.E. 13th St. • Des Moines, IA 50319 • 515-281-3162 
Website: ​https://das.iowa.gov/procurement/fleet-services 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/29C.20.pdf
mailto:das.risk@iowa.gov
https://forms.iowadot.gov/FormsMgt/External/433002_flat.pdf
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