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Vehicle Accident Report Form 

 

 
● Render aid or assistance to the injured (per Iowa Code 321.262). 

● The State of Iowa is self-insured. Refer to the insurance card and accident report procedures 

online or in your glove box packet. If the accident involves another party, exchange information 

with the driver or property owner. Do not admit fault or attempt to settle your claim. 

● Call local law enforcement, if a fatality, injury or property damage has occurred, and obtain a 

police report. On the Capitol complex, call Iowa State Patrol, Post 16 at 515-281-5608. 

● Within the first 24 hours, report accident or damage to the Risk Manager at 515-281-8008 or 

DAS.Risk@iowa.gov, your agency fleet contact, and supervisor. Damage caused by an act of 

nature or unavoidable cause MUST be reported to DAS Fleet Services within 24 hours of the 

incident to qualify for contingent fund use ( per Iowa Code 29c.20). 

● For an estimate, locate the nearest contracted auto body repair shop in the Contracted Service 

Providers map. A contracted auto body shop within 30 miles should be used if available. 

● If towing is necessary, contact DAS Fleet Services (515-281-3162) for assistance. After hours, call 

National Automobile Club (NAC) FleetRescue* (866-329-3471) or local law enforcement. 

● Within 72 hours, print and submit a completed Accident Report Form, including a cost estimate 

from the auto body shop to DAS.Risk@iowa.gov. 

● Any accident in the State of Iowa that causes death, personal injury, or total property damage of 

$1,500 or more must be reported on an Iowa Accident Report Form UNLESS the accident is 

investigated by a law enforcement agency and a report is filed. Failure to return an accident 

report form within 72 hours may result in suspension of driving privileges.  

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.262.pdf
mailto:DAS.Risk@iowa.gov
mailto:DAS.Risk@iowa.gov
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/29C.20.pdf
mailto:DAS.Risk@iowa.gov


Vehicle Accident Report 
 

Time and location of accident 

Accident Date  Time No. of Vehicles 

   

City  State 

Vehicle 1 (State vehicle) 

Driver’s Name Work Address 

  

Driver’s License No./State  City, State, Zip 

  

Date of Birth Department Work Phone Home Phone 

    

License Plate No. VIN Year, Make, Model 

   

Estimate ($)  of Damage  Description of Damage 

  

Vehicle 2 (other vehicle) *if more than two vehicles, use additional forms 

Driver’s Name Street Address 

  

Driver’s License No./State  City, State, Zip 

  

Date of Birth Work Phone Home Phone License Plate No. 

    

Description of Damage 

 



 

Property Damage other than vehicle (fence, utility pole, etc) 

Owner’s Name, Address and Phone No. Description of Property Damaged 

  

Injured Persons (attach additional sheets if necessary) 

Vehicle No. 1/ Name and Address Describe Injuries 

  

Vehicle No. 2/Name and Address Describe Injuries 

  

Witness 

Name Address/Phone 

  

Name Address/Phone 

  

 

 

Accident Diagram 

Complete the diagram below, including a description of what happened. 
Use the outline below to sketch the scene of your accident, writing in street or highway names or numbers.  Use 
number 1 to indicate the State vehicle. 

      



 

Accident Information Exchange Sheet 

Other Driver Information 

Driver’s Name   

Street Address  

Driver Phone  

Driver’s License No./State  

Vehicle Plate No.  

Vehicle Year, Make, Model  

VIN  

Insurance Company Name  

Policy No.  

Agent Name  

Agent Phone  

Owner’s Name/Address (if different)  

Submit this information along with the accident report to DAS Fleet Services within 72 hours of the accident. 

 

Complete the next section, tear at the dotted line and give to the other party involved. 

—-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

State Vehicle Insurance Information 

Driver’s Name  

Driver’s License No./State  

Vehicle Plate No.  

Vehicle Year, Make, Model  

VIN  

The State of Iowa is self-insured.  
If you have any questions regarding an accident, please contact 

DAS Fleet Services at 515-281-8008 or DAS.Risk@iowa.gov. 

 

mailto:DAS.Risk@iowa.gov

