

State of Iowa Vehicle Accident Claim Process

Notify within 24 hours:

Agency Fleet Contact and DAS Fleet Services, 515-281-3162

29C.20 claims:

Notification MUST be submitted within 24 hours to

das.risk@iowa.gov

This is a loss incurred by fire, storm, theft or unavoidable cause.



Submit DAS Fleet accident report form and estimate within 72 hours.

Do not attempt to settle your claim of admit fault. Refer any additional party to DAS

Fleet at 515-281-3162.

Any accident in the State of Iowa that causes death, personal injury or total property damage of \$1,500 or more must be reported on a DOT Accident Report Form (433002) unless the accident is investigated by a law enforcement agency. Failure to return an accident report form within 72 hours may result in the suspension of your driving privileges.



DAS Fleet will submit claim to CRS. Estimate will be reviewed if over \$1,500.



Repair vehicles: DAS will notify the agency that the vendor has approval to begin repairs. Repairs should be completed within 60 days of approval date.

Totaled vehicles: DAS will notify the agency of salvage value and coordinate the return of the vehicle.



If the vehicle needs supplemental work, the shop will contact DAS Fleet for approval before work is begun.

The shop will contact the driver for vehicle pick-up once repairs are complete.



DAS Fleet will handle all billing for risk claims, including tow bills and windshield replacement/repairs.