
Department of Administrative Services 

DAS Fleet Services- Risk Management 

109 SE 13th St 

Des Moines, IA 50319 

Vehicle Accident Report Form 

● Render aid or assistance to the injured (​per Iowa Code 321.262​).
● The State of Iowa is self-insured. Refer to the insurance card and accident report procedures online

or in your glove box packet. If the accident involves another party, exchange information with the

driver or property owner. Do not admit fault or attempt to settle your claim.

● Call local law enforcement, if a fatality, injury or property damage has occurred, and obtain a police

report. On the Capitol complex, call Iowa State Patrol, Post 16 at 515-281-5608.

● Within the first 24 hours, report accident or damage to DAS Fleet Services (515-281-3162 or

DAS.Risk@iowa.gov​), your agency fleet contact, and supervisor. Damage caused by an act of nature

or unavoidable cause MUST be reported to DAS Fleet Services within 24 hours of the incident to

qualify for contingent fund use (​per Iowa Code 29C.20​).
● For an estimate, locate the nearest contracted auto body repair shop in the Contracted Service

Providers map. A contracted auto body shop within 30 miles should be used if available.

● If towing is necessary, contact DAS Fleet Services (515-281-3162) for assistance. After hours, call

National Automobile Club (NAC) FleetRescue* (866-329-3471) or local law enforcement.

● Within 72 hours, print and submit a completed Accident Report Form, including a cost estimate from

the auto body shop to ​DAS.Risk@iowa.gov​.
● Any accident in the State of Iowa that causes death, personal injury, or total property damage of

$1,500 or more must be reported on an Iowa Accident Report Form UNLESS the accident is

investigated by a law enforcement agency and a report is filed. Failure to return an accident report

form within 72 hours may result in suspension of driving privileges.

DAS Fleet Services ● 109 S.E. 13th St. ● Des Moines, IA 50319 ● 515-281-3162 
Website:​ https://das.iowa.gov/procurement/fleet.services​ ● Email: das.risk@iowa.gov 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.262.pdf
mailto:DAS.Risk@iowa.gov
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/29C.20.pdf
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Vehicle Accident Report 

 

Time and location of accident 

Accident Date (Mo/Day/Year) Time No. of Vehicles 

   

County  State  

  

Vehicle 1 (State vehicle) 

Driver’s Name Work Street Address 

  

Driver’s License No./State City, State, Zip 

  

Date of Birth Department Work Phone Home Phone 

    

License Plate No. VIN Year, Make, Model 

   

Estimate ($)  of Damage Description of Damage 

  

Vehicle 2 (other vehicle) if more than two vehicles-use additional forms 

Driver’s Name Street Address 

  

Driver’s License No./State City, State, Zip 

  

Date of Birth Work Phone Home Phone License Plate No. 

    

Description of Damage 
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Website:​ https://das.iowa.gov/procurement/fleet.services​ ● Email: das.risk@iowa.gov 

 



 

Property Damage other than vehicle (fence, utility pole, etc) 

Owner’s Name, Address and Phone Description of Property Damaged 

  

Injured Persons (attach additional sheets if necessary) 

Vehicle No. 1/ Name and Address Describe Injuries 

  

Vehicle No. 2/ Name and Address Describe Injuries 

  

Witness 

Name Address/Phone 

  

Name Address/Phone 

  

  
 

Accident Diagram 

Complete diagram below, include a description of what happened. 
Use the outline below to sketch the scene of your accident,  
writing in street or highway names or numbers.  
Use number 1 to indicate the State vehicle. 
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Accident Information Exchange Sheet 

Other Vehicle information 

Driver’s Name  

Street Address  

Driver Phone  

Driver’s License No./State  

Vehicle Plate No.  

Vehicle year, make, model  

VIN  

Insurance Company Name   

Policy No.  

Agent name  

Agent phone   

Owner’s Name/Address (if 
different) 

 

Submit this information along with the accident report to DAS Fleet Service within 72 hours of the accident. 

 

Complete the next section, tear at the dotted line and give to the other party involved. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 

State Vehicle Insurance Information 

Driver’s Name  

Driver’s License No./State  

Vehicle Plate No.  

Vehicle year, makel, model  

VIN  

The State of Iowa is self-insured. 
If you have any questions regarding an accident, please contact 

DAS Fleet Services at 515-281-3162 of​ DAS.Risk@iowa.gov 
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